Turkeys with Archery equipment..

This forum is for general discussion that doesn't fit in the other topic-specific forums.
chevy01234
Duck South Addict

Turkeys with Archery equipment..

Postby chevy01234 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:20 pm

What are you guys using for an archery set up?

I am planning on using my Diamond Iceman with gold tip arrows, still undecided on the broadheads right now though. Any suggestions for 100gr heads?

(Please no use a shotgun stuff, I have decided I am just hunting with my bow this year for the first bird)
three11
Veteran

Re: Turkeys with Archery equipment..

Postby three11 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:14 pm

I have been hunting with my Mathews for the last two years and have killed three birds with it. I shoot gold tip arrows and use Slick Trick 100 gr. magnum broadheads. Some people use the Gobbler Guillotines, but I am not a good enough shot to try and hit one in the head. My first two that I shot dropped in their tracks, but the third one I hit low and had to chase him for about 3 hours before I finally caught him. Ran out of arrows and had to beat him to death with an old bodoc fencepost that I pulled up!

As far as broadheads go, I have been using the Slick Tricks because that was what was on the end of my arrows. Been thinking about getting some Turkey Tearrors this year. Supposed to prevent pass through, which is important because it will impair a turkeys ability to fly(they can, and will, put a lot of distance between you and them if you don't drop them immediately).

Good luck. Let us know what you decide to go with and what kind of results you get.
chevy01234
Duck South Addict

Postby chevy01234 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:25 pm

Thanks for the reply! I just looked them up and those are some awesome looking heads. Might have to get a few and see how they shoot! Thanks
Jumpem
Regular

Postby Jumpem » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:03 pm