How Do You Start?

This forum is for general discussion that doesn't fit in the other topic-specific forums.
jacksbuddy
Duck South Addict

How Do You Start?

Postby jacksbuddy » Fri Feb 05, 2016 1:42 pm

Ok, I've never been a turkey hunter before. Went once with my Grandfather, but he was more interested in HIM enjoying the hunt than me.

So, if I wanted to get involved in this springtime obsession, what do you suggest I do in order to start doing this and be good at it. In sort, how does one go about hunting turkeys and successfully harvesting them?

All suggestions are welcome, good suggestions will be appreciated, and smart@$$ suggestions will be graded - - - - - publicly.
Nobody owes you anything.
Smoke68
Duck South Addict

Re: How Do You Start?

Postby Smoke68 » Fri Feb 05, 2016 3:22 pm

Not a turkey hunter, that is to say I'm not good at hunting turkeys. But I try, and it's fun.

Get out there and find a bird. Try and call him in solo if you want, but after you get home call up a buddy who kills a lot of turkeys to go back with you. Most of the good turkey hunters I know don't care if they're pulling the trigger or not, they just want to beat the old bird at his own game. Return to the area as a team and pay attention; that will let you get some experience on how to go about it all.

My $0.02

"Well we don't rent pigs and I figure it's better to say it right out front because a man that does like to rent pigs is... he's hard to stop" -Augustus McRae
Rowdy53103
Veteran

Postby Rowdy53103 » Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:42 pm

•Get you a owl hooter to locate one at daybreak and/or a crow call to locate one later
•Get you a cheap slate call and start practicing. Instructions will be on the back of the package