this website login/registration feature SUCKS!

This forum will contain important site announcements and policies. It is the duty of all members to keep current with these announcements and policies. Registration and participation in the forums implies acceptance of the terms and policies of the site.
onemojet

this website login/registration feature SUCKS!

Postby onemojet » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:51 pm

My husband has been trying to get logged in for several days...using both email addresses and different user names/passwords. You can't change a password if you already have used that email address. Can't find a way to get into a profile unless you have a post to change an email or password. I am a webmaster for the Corps of Engineers and if we ran a website like this, we would be out of business. Is this what you are after?!? What are you thinking?!?
GulfCoast
Duck South Addict

Re: this website login/registration feature SUCKS!

Postby GulfCoast » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:10 pm

We are sorry that you had difficulty with the registration process. Glad you were able to log on. Interestingly enough, I registered under another name and had no problems, so the site seems to be working just fine.
So many ducks, so little time....

HRCH (500) UH Ellie Mae MH (2005-2017)
HRCH Tipsy MH
Zsa-Zsa Puppy
Greenhead22
Duck South Addict

Postby Greenhead22 » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:16 pm

The admin created a new feature for the website. If a new member doesn't login and make a post within a certain amount of time, the account becomes inactive. Once it does, a moderator has to activate the account.

Also, when I have to reset an account due to password issues, the profile change makes the account inactive. I have to go back in and active it.

This feature was put in place because we were having a bunch of XXX bots and lurkers registering on the site.