Grass for brushing layouts

This forum is for general discussion that doesn't fit in the other topic-specific forums.
Smoke68
Duck South Addict

Grass for brushing layouts

Postby Smoke68 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 9:46 am

I'm new to the whole layout blind hunting game. But I quickly realized that brushing the blind 100% with native material in the area I'm hunting the morning of is a time-consuming process. Next year I'll be looking to grass it prior to the hunt, and just fill in on top with some native stuff to blend it in. My question is about natural grass versus commercially sold grass.

Is there any locally available grass that I can go out and cut before the season that will hold up well throughout the season with only the occasional touchup needed ?

"Well we don't rent pigs and I figure it's better to say it right out front because a man that does like to rent pigs is... he's hard to stop" -Augustus McRae
Denduke
Duck South Addict

Re: Grass for brushing layouts

Postby Denduke » Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:36 am

Killerweed is synthetic and little goes long way. Easy to spray paint if you have to. You can get the combo of colors or bunch of brite green if green field hunting. Basic coverage using "larkshead" loops thru straps and make dark brown(smart weed) or dark green by zip tying to painted wooden clothes pins to change the look carried in plastic bag in the layout. Here's a Finisher and pop open dog blind with Killerweed....

novacaine
Duck South Addict

Postby novacaine » Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:39 pm

As Denduke stated.........the wooden clothes pens and zip ties work well just be careful getting in and out in muddy conditions. I tend to have them pop off when the grass gets caked with mud.
Once you figure out your base color or colors for your areas, you can buy single colors in bulk and save some money.
I have a link/contact for bulk purchase somewhere that we made years ago and will try to find for you.