Need some advice from a more experienced trainer

This forum is for general discussion that doesn't fit in the other topic-specific forums.
greenhead23

Need some advice from a more experienced trainer

Postby greenhead23 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:51 am

I know y'all have probably seen this question plenty of times but I could use the help so I figured I'd ask. I have a 12 week old male black lab pup that I have been working with sense 7-weeks old. He's doing well as far as obedience is concerned but his retrieving is very inconsistent. Some days he does beautifully and returns every throw, some days he'll return a few and then lose interest, and some times he'll grab it and run the other way. This is my first attempt at training a pup so I'm at loss of what to do. Does anyone have any advice to help fix this?
dwgeddie

Re: Need some advice from a more experienced trainer

Postby dwgeddie » Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:35 am

B3
Duck South Addict

Postby B3 » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:25 am

If pup is not showing tremendous desire then I would back off obedience in the field. Do OB separately in the yard. I would restrain pup in a sitting position but release him on his name while bird or bumper is in the air. Once he gets the bumper in mouth start running away calling his name and acting like a fool. He will chase after you. once he gets to you don't take it away immediately. Praise,Praise,Praise and then gently get him to give it up. Only do a few marks per session so you put him away wanting more.
EvanG
Veteran

Postby EvanG » Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:49 pm

Very good advice so far. In addition, get him on real birds ASAP. Limit throws to short distances for a while, and just throw 2 or 3 per session.

click on image

EvanG
The Smartwork System for Retriever Training (link)
“Please don't post anything on the gun dog forum that might have anything to do with dog training.”
― BrettG
99beers
Veteran

Postby 99beers » Thu Jul 18, 2013 11:12 pm

EvanG
Veteran