Pine tree troubles

This forum is for general discussion that doesn't fit in the other topic-specific forums.
Wildfowler
Duck South Addict

Pine tree troubles

Postby Wildfowler » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:01 am

Is there anything that can be done to save trees that seem to be dying off each year from pine Beatles? We're cutting down a few mature trees from a wooded lot each year.

Surely there is something that can be sprayed on the remaining pines that may be infected but have not died?

Thanks.
driven every kind of rig that's ever been made, driven the backroads so I wouldn't get weighed. - Lowell George
teul2
Duck South Addict

Re: Pine tree troubles

Postby teul2 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:10 am

I am no expert, but i stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night.
When that happened on a bosses place many moons ago, the solution was to cut the effected trees, and several around it in case the beetles had gotten to them already and are not showing. These were 15-18 y/o trees though.
Looking for 2 duck calls from Dominic Serio of Greenwood (ones for Novacaine)
"Most Chesapeakes, unless in agreement that it is his idea, will continually question the validity of what he is being asked to do" - Butch Goodwin
donia
Duck South Addict

Postby donia » Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:16 pm

same qualifications as above, but rented a house on a pine plantation one year. that was about the middle of the first good wave of infestations and the owner was griping about having to spray another expensive (very) treatment on his stand, again. that's been over 15 yrs, so i don't remember what it was, but very possible to not be available now... I bet someone replaced it with another very expensive application, though! looks to be onyx, now days.

https://extension.msstate.edu/sites/def ... /p2748.pdf

Several control techniques are available for SPB infestations. Market conditions, size and number of trees involved, and money available will help you decide what to do.