Pond Moss

This forum is for general discussion that doesn't fit in the other topic-specific forums.
jdbuckshot
Duck South Addict

Pond Moss

Postby jdbuckshot » Mon May 07, 2012 9:54 am

I have a lake that has a good bit of moss in it, some on the top in big mats, and its growing all in the bottom.

i am working on getting a bloom on the lake via fertilizer, but i know the fertilizer won't do any good with the moss covering up the lake.

any input on how to get rid of this stuff? its like the plague!!!
"The rich ..... who are content to buy what they have not the desire to get by their own exertions, These are the real enemies of Game."
Wingman
Duck South Addict

Re: Pond Moss

Postby Wingman » Mon May 07, 2012 10:19 am

I'm no pond pro, but if you have filamentous algae you have plenty of nitrogen. We always tied a sack of copper sulfate on a pole at water level for blue green control.
ISAIAH 40:31

“I ask you to judge me by the enemies I have made.”
― Franklin D. Roosevelt
cajun squealer
Duck South Addict

Postby cajun squealer » Mon May 07, 2012 10:19 am

Cutrine Plus. There may be something newer/better on the market now, but that's what I used for it back in the day.
Them that don't know him won't like him, and them that do sometimes won't know how to take him.
--Willie
Bercy
Veteran

Postby Bercy » Mon May 07, 2012 10:27 am

Same issue here - have fertilized 4 times in last couple months, can't get a bloom and have moss coming on. Help would be appreciated here as well.
pondman
Duck South Addict

Postby pondman » Mon May 07, 2012 10:33 am

JD,

Be careful with copper sulfate in your low alkalinity water you can some major fish kill issues. My suggestion is to call DanP and get a price for spraying. Did ya'll ever drain and deepen the lake? Also, DO NOT fert if you have significant filamentous algae issues. You may also have some Naiad or pondweed as well.

Bercy,